Martial Arts…Just Another Exercise Program?

Martial Arts…Just Another Exercise Program?

Dr. Reggie Cochran, Chuck Norris, Aaron Norris, Don “The Dragon” Wilson, Cynthia “Lady Dragon” Rothrock, James Wilson, and Esau McKnight: all world famous martial artists. But as I’ve gotten to know several people on this list I’ve seen more to them than just being Masters in martial arts. Which all of them are, and I have a huge amount of respect for all of them. And that is what this entry is about. Martial arts incorporates a different mindset and lifestyle, at least to those who are Masters. And it’s one I’m developing. It’s one of a fierce determination that defines who they are. They decide early on to become a master. And it carries over into their entire lives.

  • They are the ones who reach for the stars and reach them.
  • They set one goal after another and reach them.
  • They do things differently than others around them and it shows up in their relationships.
  • The friends they have realize they are friends, no guessing “am I a friend or not.”

A month ago, today, I was a victim of a hit & run accident while walking. In the subsequent weeks since then it has been my friends in martial arts for the most part than have been there when I was hurting, either emotionally or physically or a combination of the two. I can (and do) go to them for advice without any hesitation at all. I see them as much as friends as leaders. I love calling James, Don, Esau and Reggie friends. All of them are wonderful.

If you want an exercise program, martial arts in FANTASTIC, but as you get involved in it, be aware that a great school will incorporate a lot more than a tough workout. It will incorporate a new mindset as well for you to embrace. Do you want to see what I mean? Check out the movie “The Martial Arts Kid” starring Don “The Dragon” Wilson, Cynthia “Lady Dragon” Rothrock, TJ Storm and several other true martial artists. It is available through Traditionz Entertainment, as well as on Amazon and other venues as well. The producers connected to Traditionz are my wonderful friends Anita Clay (who is an AMAZING actress to be watching for as well), James Wilson, Cynthia “Lady Dragon” Rothrock, and Don “The Dragon” Wilson. As I talk to James, Don and Anita I have learned that they really want martial arts to be more than just a way to fight. Don Wilson said in response to a comment I made about “The Martial Arts Kid” this: “The Study of the Martial Arts involves more than just the fighting aspect….and the only time to use it is to defend others or yourself. It is not for Bullying others!” And this is so true!

 

 

Leave a Reply

