Balance: Love & Life

Balance: Love & Life

For years I was encouraged to forget myself that I was supposed to focus on my  husband and children. I was told that love always puts others first. Even if it means you neglect yourself. And I followed what I told to do. I neglected myself. And I got SICK, so sick that I almost died. I was battling irregular heartbeats, incredibly low blood pressure, obesity, and severe depression. But no one knew. To a certain degree not even my family. But in November of 2011 I hit rock bottom. I sat on the edge of my bed that day and cried. Probably for over an hour. That day I cried out to God and told Him to either take me home to heaven or help me get better. I really didn’t care which. But God put it on my heart to start following Dr. Don Colbert on Facebook, which I did. Over time I started reading his books. The first one I read was “Stress Less” which began to address that my being stressed out was the the root of all the issues I battled. I learned that I had to get balance in my life. Over time I read more and more of his books and began to eat healthier, exercise, and make healthier choices. This was the beginning of my learning to Live Clean. Since then I’ve lost weight, learned to make healthier friends, and learned that self-care ISN’T SELFISH.

It’s  important to take care of yourself so you can care for others. So what can you do to take care of yourself? There are LOTS of things. Here is a list to get you started.

  • Daily affirmations. I’m going to be adding a second blog that has some that will get you started.
  • Take a walk
  • Take a healthy cooking class
  • Take up a hobby
  • Read a book, just for fun
  • Take 30 minutes and day dream ( I do this on my walks!)
  • Go have a drink (coffee, tea…) with a friend
  • Look for things to be grateful for (I’ll address this on the other blog shortly)
  • Have a focus word of the week. Mine this week is balance, last week was purpose. I write them on my bedroom mirror so I can see it several times a day.
  • Try something that you’ve been afraid to try: but use common sense, don’t do something dangerous.

There are lots of other things you can do to take care of yourself. See what you can come up with.

Leave a Reply

