Purpose? Why Do I Need That?

Purpose? Why Do I Need That?

“I believe that God has put gifts and talents and ability on the inside of every one of us. When you develop that and you believe in yourself and you believe that you’re a person of influence and a person of purpose, I believe you can rise up out of any situation.” Joel Osteen

At one time or another I think we all ask why are we here. I have asked that question more times than I can count. To get the answer most of the time I go to my mentor, Dr. Reggie Cochran. If we want to have a successful life we have to know what we want. Knowing our purpose will help us define that. I think about it this way, if we know what we want then it will be easy to define how to get it. But maybe you are just thinking about this. So where do you start? What I’ve done is to get input from Reggie. But I also did my own research to work on this myself. And I have asked myself some hard questions.

  • What am I good at?
  • What do others see in me?
  • If I could do whatever I want, irregardless of the cost, what would it be?

Beyond that, you need to ask some additional questions:

  • Am I willing to devote myself to pursuing this in  my life
  • Do my skills, attitude, and desires allow me to do this?
    • By the way, if attitude and desires line up but skills are lacking: you can get training
    • Do I need the training to get skills to pursue this?
  • Am I willing to invest in myself to get the training I need?

So, my blog is about clean living. What does purpose have to do with Clean Living? I define clean living this way: Living in such a way that your mind and body and environment are free from anything dirty. This includes our mindset. If you are living clean then you will have a much easier time determining your purpose.

Leave a Reply

